Philae landed on a comet and Bruce Willis wasn’t involved

Farewell Philae - narrow-angle view Rosetta’s OSIRIS narrow-angle camera captured this parting shot of the Philae lander after separation. The lander separated from the orbiter at 09:03 GMT/10:03 CET and is expected to touch down on Comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko seven hours later. Confirmation of a successful touchdown is expected in a one-hour window centred on 16:02 GMT / 17:02 CET. Rosetta and Philae had been riding through space together for more than 10 years. While Philae is set to become the first probe to land on a comet, Rosetta is the first to rendezvous with a comet and follow it around the Sun. The information collected by Philae at one location on the surface will complement that collected by the Rosetta orbiter for the entire comet. Credit: ESA/Rosetta/MPS for OSIRIS Team MPS/UPD/LAM/IAA/SSO/INTA/UPM/DASP/IDA

You may not have been following Philae’s Twitter feed for the last few months but you probably saw the news that the European Space Agency’s probe has landed on a comet designated 67P yesterday. https://twitter.com/Philae2014/status/532564514051735552 This is a tremendous achievement: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20MFL9L8KEc Jason Snell wrote a short post titled “Philae lands on a comet” commemorating the landing…… Continue reading Philae landed on a comet and Bruce Willis wasn’t involved