If you enjoyed The Expanse on TV, read the books

I have been reading James S.A. Corey‘s “The Expanse” books and I just finished the 3rd one. I thought I’d share my reviews on GoodReads here too.

We watched the first season and enjoyed it but it was a bit different to the books. As good as the TV series was, this is one of those times when it is worth reading the books for the bigger picture (especially the first one which is what the TV series seems to be based on).

Book 1 – Leviathan Wakes

Leviathan Wakes (Expanse, #1)Leviathan Wakes by James S.A. Corey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I started reading this soon after we started watching the TV series “The Expanse”. The TV series departs from the book (we’re about 2 episodes in) but the book is a pretty good story. I enjoyed the first book and have started the second.

Book 2 – Caliban’s War

Caliban's War (Expanse, #2)Caliban’s War by James S.A. Corey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book was a great follow-on from the first book and introduction to the series. I really liked some of the new characters, especially the star Martian Marine. This book also develops the Rocinante crew further as a more cohesive crew.

Book 3 – Abaddon’s Gate

Abaddon's Gate (Expanse, #3)Abaddon’s Gate by James S.A. Corey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book was pretty good although not as good as the first two. The storyline worked but there were times when it seemed a bit overdone, a little too cliche’d. Leaving that aside, if you enjoyed the first two keep going with this one. I have already bought the 4th book and I’ll start that soon.

Book 4 – Cibola Burn

Cibola Burn (Expanse, #4)Cibola Burn by James S.A. Corey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I enjoyed this one more than the previous book although I am starting to feel as if Corey is channeling Tom Clancy a bit. This was an interesting story and it developed the storyline nicely. I’m tempted to start the next book right away (the one reason I am hesitating is because this series is becoming a bit of an addiction).

Book 5 – Nemesis Games

Nemesis Games (Expanse, #5)Nemesis Games by James S.A. Corey
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book was worth reading but it lacked the edge of the earlier Expanse books. I keep feeling as if this series is becoming a sci-fi Tom Clancy series. Fun to read but a bit too camp and predictable.

Book 6 – Babylon’s Ashes

Babylon's Ashes (Expanse, #6)Babylon’s Ashes by James S.A. Corey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was probably one of the better Expanse books. It was a story that encompassed a number of characters, some of whom seemed pretty peripheral (although I suspect they will be more prominent in the next book). I enjoyed reading it.

View all my reviews

Paul
Enthusiast, writer, strategist and photographer. Inbound Marketing Specialist. Passionate about my wife, Gina and #proudDad. Allergic to stupid

2 Comments

What do you think?

%d bloggers like this: